Day + 79

I can hardly believe that an entire week has past since I last got to the blog.  By the time, I got home, I was just too tired to sit down and write. It has been yet another challenging week, filled with a variety of “events” for Seth.  The new chemo protocol that he is taking has helped significantly to control some of the major GVHD problems. However, like all chemo drugs it does have serious side effects.  It makes him very tired as it suppresses some of his blood counts.  They are not at a dangerous level and are being monitored all the time.  As soon as this round of medication is completed, the numbers should bounce back. Seth has lost so much muscle strength, that the daily things we take for granted become so very difficult for him.  He knows that he has to work on this (and he is really trying) but needless to say it is so demoralizing and frustrating for him. 

I so wish that I could have a more positive posting for the blog. I am hopeful that will come soon.  Seth is determined to get through all of this and continues to fight on.

All of your comments give us support and strength.  We treasure them all.

Mom

19 Responses

  1. Hi Seth and Karen,
    Like you it is difficult to come up with the proper words at this point. My heart goes out to you both during this most trying and frustrating time. I am here, if for nothing else to pray and be supportive. I want you to know that Seth’s name has been on the Mi Sheberach list at my temple all these many weeks and will remain until he is well. I believe this struggle and fight will be victorious in the end. Hang in! but reach out if there is any more I can do.
    Hope, love and courage,
    Gail

  2. Dear Seth and Karen,
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you . May your love, strength and resolve bolster your efforts to overcome these most recent obstacles.
    XXXXX
    Shari and Benet

  3. dear seth and karen,
    a cheerful note to say that you are voted my hero and heroine….prayers for an easy day and week…
    with return to strength….your determination is awesome…keep to it….
    hugs love strength and light….bernice

  4. Dear Grandma –

    Thank you for the update, I only wish the update was as positive as I am! But I still think forward progress, no matter how slow, is still a good thing! We keep you in our thoughts and prayers – and only wish there was more we could do for you guys.

    Lenna will keep calling to pester and see what she can do!

    All my love and prayers and all good things,
    Voodoo

  5. Keep plugging away Seth. I know this is a hard and difficult road, but your resolve, strength and perseverance will see you through.

    All our Love and Prayers – The Gleason’s.

  6. Today the weather was so gray but we went to my Mom’s to light the Hanukkah candles. We stayed with her until the flames were gone.
    I pray for you & hope for a “miracle” that you will get stronger each day.
    Love
    Arline

  7. I UNDERSTAND HOW DIFFICULT THIS IS FOR BOTH OF YOU
    YOUR TREMENDOUS STRENGTH WILL HELP YOU OVERCOME THE FRUSTATIONS
    NOTHING SEEMS APPROPRIATE TO SAY EXCEPT THAT I THANK YOU FOR SHARING AND YOU MUST KNOW HOW MUCH I CARE AND BELIEVE THAT YOU WILL OVERCOME ALL

    MUCH LOVE
    BAARBARA

  8. Dear Seth and Karen,
    I think of both of you every day and wish there were something, anything we could do other than send our love and our hope for the GVHD to go away and Seth to come home and be well and get on with the good life. We are all waiting to go to Luger’s until such time as you are able to join us. Madame sends her love with Neil’s and mine.
    xoxo Deborah

  9. Dearest Cousins,
    Sending you loads of love and prayers…knowing that you both will prevail over that which challenges you. Just keep your mind and hearts strong and the body will most definitely follow…
    Happy Last Day of Hannukah…
    xoxox
    m

  10. Dear Seth and Karen,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you both, as always. As amazed as I am to read all of the love and support your friends and family send regularly, that it completely dwarfed by your stedfast determination, focus. I look forward to the day, soon, when this will all be behind you and you will be out of the hospital, enjoying a beer and a lot of laughs. Keep up your tremendous strength!!!

    With love,

    Jacques

  11. It almost seems offensive to write words of encouragement, since I am so in awe of the resolve and good cheer the two of you have, or at least present. I don’t know if I’d have been able to handle this as well as you both do.

    I hope you’ll continue to draw on that impressive reserve in the weeks to come – I’m optimistic that it will all get rewarded, and soon. All the best.

  12. Seth and Karen,

    Thinking of you every day, with constant hope for your improved health and constant admiration for your tenacity, strength and humor.

    Love always,

    Amy

  13. Seth,

    We think of you often and want you to know you are in our thoughts and prayers. Stay strong.

    Karen, you get our vote for mother of the century! Your boys are so very blessed to have someone like you as their mother.

    Love,

    Lynda and Kenny

  14. Seth,

    Just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you and have been following your progress. I’ve gotten into a habit this past year of checking your every day – the bookmark is in my toolbar – right next to email!

    I can’t begin to know how hard it has been for you and all I can do is sit in awe of the strength that you have had to marshall every single day.

    From a selfish perspective, reflecting on this has made me remember the importance of even the simplest and most mundane daily acts of life – walking the dog, making breakfast for my daughter, taking the subway to work, even writing a status report. I, like most people, took too much of life for granted, made too much of it into something that is just at task to get through as quickly as possible in order to get to the next thing. But, really, every bit of life is a blessing…thank you for helping me rediscover that.

    Seth – stay strong and know that you are and have been in mine and many people’s thoughts and prayers each and every day.

    Karen – I really do echo everyone’s comments – you are the mother of the millenium!

    Love,
    Mike Sid

  15. Seth, like Mike I’m so very much in awe of your incredible strength and sage outlook and management of this entire process. I miss hearing your voice and your serene wisdom in manic times and often think of you when I need to get things in persective.

    Amelie and I say little prayers each day for the most important things in life, especially the health of our family and friends – you are always there in our prayers as during our relatively short but very close friendship you were there for us when we were under the weather or otherwise in need of an emotional “tiramisu”.

    We also send prayers and wishes for strength and peace, because we all need and deserve some of both. With love to you – I will check in tomorrow (as always). I’m sending a virtual gentle handsqueeze although I haven’t quite worked out the shorthand for that yet – so sending some digital and kisses hugs too xoxoxo.

  16. Hi Seth,

    Sending you thoughts and prayers this cold cold cold winter night. You have been such an inspriation this year and I just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you. Lots and lots of love my friend,

    Maggie

  17. dear seth,
    sending you hugs, warmth and prayers and constant admiration for the strength you show each day.
    with love, bernice

  18. Seth, as its snowy and cold in philly, Christina and I are sending you many thoughts and prayers. As people, we are defined by those who love us and your friends and family are unwavering in their compassion, love and thoughts and wanted to echo what has been said by so many people in so many different ways. Your strength, wisdom, and grin continue to inspire me in a multitude of ways…

  19. To you all our thoughts and prayers are with you all. May G-d grant all of you strength.

Leave a Reply

