Day + 31

Seth is finding the post transplant time so very difficult. Just as we think that we are moving forward, along comes yet another complication. GVHD has many manifestations and each one needs to be treated individually while still working with a suppressed immune system. The doctors are constantly evaluating Seth’s medications and adjusting them or adding to them to counteract the battle being fought in his body. Needless to say these past few days have not been easy for him. He is very tired, frustrated and angry. There are, I am sure many other adjectives he would insert here but I think this gives you the general idea. I know that I generally try to write a more upbeat posting but in all fairness to Seth and to all of you, I need to share the fact that there are just some days that really are not easy for him.

I am grateful to BJ who spent time with Seth so that I could have a bit of time off. The chance to unwind was so appreciated and yet I could still be close by with cell phone in hand.

Tomorrow is a new day and with your love and prayers it will be a better one.

Mom

12 Responses

  1. Love and strength, as much as Amelie and I have and more, all reserved for Seth.

  2. I appreciate the updates, whether they’re upbeat or frustrated, or angry, or any other adjective. I can only speak for myself, but I have to imagine that most if not all of us here on the reading side of things believe that all of Seth’s fortitude, combativeness, impatience, etc., are a) being put to the test, and b) winning the fight, inch by inch. Both/all of you have every right to have your down days.

  3. Dear Karen and Seth,
    No doubt all of us out in cyberspace are hoping to read positive updates, but we are all real enough to know it doesn’t always work that way. Neither you or Seth should ever apologize for sharing the truth with us. I personally wish there was more I could do to support you both and to make this easier. Thanks for sharing and continue to reach out, I am there for all of you.
    love, hope and courage,
    gail

  4. WE WANT TO SHARE DIFFICULT DAYS AS WELL AS GOOD DAYS
    WE ALL HOPE THERE ARE MORE GOOD DAYS THAN ROUGH ONES BUT FRIENDS WILL BE THERE FOR ANYTHING THEY CAN DO .

    I AM A REALIST AND I KNOW THIS IS VERY DIFFICULT FOR YOU BOTH
    TOMORROW HOPEFULLY WILL BE BETTER BUT EITHER WAY I AM HERE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS ANYTHING I CAN DO TO HELP

    LOVE AND ADMIRATION
    BARBARA

  5. Dear Seth, today I felt I needed to send energy and light your way. Strength for healing and mom, you are doing a great job on the blog keep it up, we support you too! All my love Paul Devereaux Toronto

  6. Truth is beauty and you, Karen, glisten like dew on rose petals.
    oxox

  7. All of us are surrounding you both with a gigantic, worldwide virtual hug, lots of love and fortitude…

  8. Sending a virtual hug and kiss…from all of us in “smoky” So Cal…
    love
    Marla

  9. I am sending lots of licks and stuff to you daddy! you know they have recuperative powers!

    Needless to say my heart (and Lenna’s and Brian’s too) is with you – continuing to pray for a refuah shlaima (Brian won’t know what that is, but he prays for it too).

    Of course Grandma you know when I grow up I hope I am half the dog you are!

  10. Thank you so much for the updates. I have been sending tons of thoughts and prayers to you and your family, and hope that the rest of your recovery from the bone marrow/stem cell transplant continues to be successful.

    Take care…
    Susan

  11. Karen and Seth,

    Thinking of you today.

    All our love,

    Amy, David and Jay

  12. Karen, G-d bless you for keeping us posted. Seth and I have been friends since seventh grade at Halsey (although I realize you and I have never met). Anyway, please give him my best; I don’t want to call him in the middle of a treatment or something (although I know he would just laugh and say he didn’t mind).

    Drew

Leave a Reply

