Transplant days -3, -2: Total Body Irradiation (TBI)

I think my anxiety leading up to this procedure was probably disproportionate to what the actual experience was. Fear of the unknown. It was fairly simple: put me  on a table, close the door and a low-level buzz for about12 minutes. Then they came in, literally flipped me over and 12 minutes later I was done.

Now I’m definitely feeling some weariness but am not totally wiped out. Some nausea but Atavan has been helping.

And while I was roasting today, they were allo-cleaning my room — making it biologically safe for me. It’s a cleaning that takes 4 hours to do and everything is scrubbed down and reset and wiped down. And then my first thing upon coming back was taking an antimicrobial shower. (That will be every day now.)

Tomorrow’s the last day of TBI and then the transplant on Thursday. Will write again as time permits.

Strength and Love,
Seth

Please remember to support us for the Light the Night Walk:

To make a donation, please visit:
http://www.active.com/donate/ltnNewYo/2154_krpalmer

To join the team and walk with us in NYC on October 4th (of in Philadelphia on September 29th) – my mom and Voodoo are team captain (I’ll be in the hospital in the middle of the transplant procedure), please visit my recent blog entry with directions to join: https://survivingleukemia.wordpress.com/2007/09/09/light-the-night-walk-nyc-philla/
(it’s not the greatest user experience – my apologies in advance)

9 Responses

  1. hey seth…i’m thinking of you and sending lots of good thoughts your way. Please let your mom know that she can contact me if you guys need ANYTHING. We are local and around this weekend and happy to help in any way we can. Lots of love,

    maggie

  2. love you seth.

  3. Thinking about you, your in my prayers can’t help admiring your courage
    love, hope and strength
    gail

  4. sending you hugs and love, sending you faith and strength, sending you hope and blessings,

    marci

  5. Thinking and praying for you today. Stay strong. Much Love, Ronnie

  6. Thinking of you. Sending love your way. Be strong my friend. My prayers are with you.

    Take care and lots of love,
    chris g

  7. Keep up your spirits and your strength. Dave and I will be pulling for you.

    Plus, on the positive side, you are off the hook for fasting on Saturday. If you feel like eating, have a snack for me!

    B

  8. Thinking of you- and praying for you for an uneventful couple of days. We are still stuck here on the floor, as well. Rooting for you down the hall!

    Amy and Glenn Gleason

  9. I just noticed all of the comments are from 2007.

Leave a Reply

