Working out and waiting

It’s been a while since my last update – lots has been going on.

Basically, physical therapy is my next stop. There is a facility right here in the hospital and that’s where I’ll be going. In the mean time, I’ve been working with a therapist up here on my floor nearly every day. We walk, do exercises and practice general moves to make me more self-sufficient.

I’ve been walking more and more every day. I’ve been doing more exercises every day. And I’ve even been out of bed sitting in the comfy chair nearly every day. Yesterday, I was in the chair for several hours – a record! This may not seem like a lot, but getting out of bed is important, even if it is only sitting in the comfy chair. It improves my circulation.

Otherwise, we’re waiting for a bed to open up on the physical therapy (PT) ward. I need a single room due to my contact precautions and there seem to be precious few of those down there. So I wait. And the wait is killing me.

I’m becoming quite depressed being here on Rhoads 7. I like the floor, don’t get me wrong. And I have a nice room and a great view. And of course I know a lot of the staff and enjoy being here, but I still spend a lot of time in bed and it’s getting me quite depressed and I just want out! It’s so hard.

In any case, the waiting is agony, but the progress with PT has been great. Thanks to everyone for your continued well wishes – it really helps!

Strength and love,
Seth

7 Responses

  1. Seth,

    It is good to hear that you have been making so much progress, sitting up in the chair, and getting ready to move to the Physical Therapy wing. Just a short time ago you weren’t even up to writing the blog. . big steps, cousin! Of course the wait for a bed is agonizing, but look how far you have come! I am sending a little goody package to help pass the time in Rhoads. The picture in my head of you thumbing through a magazine while feeling stronger every day is most pleasurable.

    I have shared your story with a few friends who are facing similiar difficult times with cancer, and all have been inspired by your strength and determination. You are doing a world of good for others by sitting in that chair, boring as it may be!

    Thinking of you every day,

    Amy

  2. If you’re feeling down because you’re getting impatient, that’s probably a really good sign. I can only imagine that the days get long – there’s a great, readable, and long book on the subject, btw: The Magic Mountain, by Thomas Mann. I’m sure you can check out an audio version of the book from a library if you’re not up to reading text.

    And feel free to rant in your blog- we check in every day, and it seems we’re so impressed by your determination and willpower that noone will respect you any less if you complain about boredom or the food. You get to do that now. 🙂

  3. Enjoy the comfy chair while it lasts . . . PT can be a killer. Once you get down there, it will be walking, jumping jacks, carrying heavy boxes and carpentry all the time!

    Seriously, we are glad to hear that you are recovering steadily. We are glad that you are back to blogging . . . Karen’s posts were great (and greatly appreciated!), but she did not have the same je ne sais quoi that your posts do (read: sarcastic humor). Hopefully with your progress she is getting a little “Karen time” to rest and relax.

    We look forward to your next post!!

    BLC and Dave

  4. Seth:

    Just checking in to let you know we’re all thinking of you and so happy to hear about your progress.

    We’ll keep positive thoughts flowing to you from 1500 Market-keep up the good work.

    The CIM gang

  5. Seth glad you are progressing, I know waiting is hard but it will be worthwhile.
    are you well enough to read your email, my computer is getting full waiting to sent you some to cheer you up.
    My prays are always with you. Love Aunt Barbara

  6. seth dear

    i definitely construe your impatience as a good sign and a most natural one

    your friends are very pleased with the progress you are making to gain your strength back the comfy chair sounds good for now you will soon be
    hard to keep up with i am sure

    please know you are thought of every day and i am cheering from the side llines
    love
    barbara

  7. The agony of waiting – soon to be replaced by the agony of PT. Keep on “bitchin'” – it’s a good sign that your itchin’ to move on! Soon we’ll be reading you’re begging for that comfy chair…
    Hang in there. Everyone is pulling for you.

    Marci

Leave a Reply

