First night at home

It’s a curious thing to have your family around you again; it’s almost like I was growing up again – except my mom’s older, my brother’s married and is here with his wife … and I’m still single 😦

Anyway, I didn’t wake up at 5am as I had feared, out of habit for the nurses to draw blood, but I did awake at a semi-respectable 6:45am, which is not too much earlier than when I’d have to get up to walk Voodoo. My brother and Sheera are downstairs on the aerobed and my brother who doesn’t snore, is. My mom is curled up on the couch and she looks like one of the adorable creatures that you just have to pet and love. 🙂

My nurse is coming today. Supplies were delivered yesterday. And I think Alan and I are going to spend a lot of time getting some basic closet and office organizational stuff set up today so I can start putting things away instead of (still) living out of boxes of clothes and linens and being buried in paperwork which is growing even deeper with all the medical stuff I now have to deal with.

6:52 and my stomach’s growling. Time for meds and some food and to get my day gently started. I know everyone else wants to sleep and I feel a little badly about getting going but, curse the hospital, I’ve become a morning person again. 🙂

12 Responses

  1. Seth,

    I was so delighted to read that you’re back at home!!!!

    Such wonderful news. I’m so happy for you and hope that being in your own space will really help with the your health and healing. And, I hope that VooDoo will be there to help lift your spirits. The photo of her on the couch without you on Monday broke my heart. It will be nice to have everyone you love around you now, in a relaxed settling.

    Best wishes for organizing and relaxing, and to just enjoy the simple moments of life together there in your loft.

    Much love,

    Rachel

  2. Seth,

    So glad to hear you are settling in at home. Don’t overdo it with the arranging and cleaning and unpacking! Rest and relax and enjoy!

    Best,
    Amy

  3. Now just how often is a Mom described as being adorable? Both Seth and Alan have used many adjectives to describe me over the years but this is a first and I just love it.
    Here’s to you!
    Love,
    Mom

  4. I have been praying for this day. Now you can truly recoup. Get rest, and eat good food!!! I love you. Love to your adorable mom and brother!!! Elisa

  5. Seth!

    What GREAT news! Try not to over do it with the organizing, you still need the rest. Sorry I have been out of touch for a few weeks, but I went on vacation to Colorado. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

    xoxoxoxo
    Laura

  6. Glad to hear that you are where you can be “master of your domain”! Don’t overdo it; there is plenty of time to organize. I am glad that you have Alan and Sheera to help you out. Definitely see how they do as personal shoppers!

    Bonnie

    PS – I enjoy the description of your mom as “adorable”. Is she still that way when you whip her heinie at Scrabble?

  7. Great to hear you are home…yayyyyyy!!! even better than great!!!
    why don’t you take some photos of you and the gang…
    Please send my love to mom, alan and sheera
    xoxoxoxoxox
    marla

  8. Dear Seth,

    If you don’t recognize the name, I’m Sheera’s father.
    I’ve been following your progress online just about every day, and like everyone else, I’m thrilled that you are finally home again.

    Kathy and Orit and Jacob and Yael and I all hope you have a great time at home with Alan and Sheera. I’m so glad they could visit you. I know they’re taking good care of you.

    Please tell Sheera and Alan that we miss them already, and give your Mom a special hug from all of us.

    When you’re all better, we expect you to make a trip back to Israel to visit all of us. Until then, just GET BETTER!!!

    Gerry Kuslansky

  9. I am very happy to hear that you are home.

    I bet you are excited to have non-hospital food 🙂

  10. Seth,

    I know being home will be much better for you than staying in the hospital. Enjoy the real world again.

    Rick

  11. So glad that you are finally sleeping in your own bed, showering in your own shower, sitting on your own “throne”, etc.
    It is so much better to be home!
    Love ya Seth,
    Alan, Lindsay & Debi

  12. I can’t believe that just because you reffered to Mom as “adorable”, you totally got away with calling her “Older”

    If I pulled that, I would never hear the end of it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

