I’M GOING HOME!

I’m going home from the hospital either Friday or Saturday. My ANC’s are climbing, though they’re not over the neutropenic threshhold yet, but my other counts are good. As the doctors explained, I’m more at risk being in hospital for catching some other bug, bacteria, infection or virus than I will be at home. And the psychological effects of resting at home before the next round of chemo are good all around. Additionally, while I’ll still be on the restrictive neutropenic diet until my numbers climb just a little bit higher, I will be able to cook my own food which will also help my overall health and build up my strength (not to mention putting on some weight, since I am now just a wispy 150lbs (68kg).)

I will be coming to the hospital once a week to meet with my doctor and I will be having home health care from the hospital come to visit to attend to certain on-going medical needs twice per week. I am meeting with the nutritionists and physical therapists and everyone else I need to to make a good transition to being home and taking care of myself at home before I return for my third round of chemo (yuck!).

I am so looking forward to having Alan and Sheera here with me – thus the timing of their trip now!

I don’t yet know how long I will be at home – I’m hoping for at least 2 weeks. It’ll be good to welcome you to my home when we’re able to arrange visits — besides, there’s still have plenty to do to finish setting up my apartment! 🙂

Many thanks and love to you all for your visits, your emails, your blog comments, your calls, and for all your strength! This isn’t over yet and I’ll still be blogging from home – and when I return to hospital for further treatments. So please remain in touch. I am sometimes overwhelmed by the number of comments and emails and calls and can’t get back to everyone, but please know that I appreciate the contact very much and love you all for your continued support.

Strength and love,
Seth

14 Responses

  1. GREAT NEWS! Enjoy your reunion w/your brother and sister in law. Having the family for your homecoming will make it all the more special. Wishing you strength and improved numbers. Getting back into the swing of your life will greatly improve all the elements.
    Be joyful,
    Marci

  2. Sorry I couldn’t get up to see you but we didn’t think we should bring Jay up to the 5th floor.
    Jay & I were both excited to hear that your numbers were better & were going home.
    Stay strong.
    Fred

  3. I am so glad for you!!! I bet Voodoo will be even happier! Next thing you know, you and Voodoo will be sitting in the sunshine!

    Bonnie

  4. YIPPPPPEEEEEE!!!! being in your own home and “obsessing” on decorating your place will be the best medicine for sure….great news my dearest….
    and more love
    M

  5. Seth,

    So happy to hear this news!

    Amy

  6. THIS IS THE BEST NEWS EVER!!! YOU ARE GOING HOME AND WE ARE ALL CELEBRATING PLEASE GIVE MY BEST TO ALAN AND SHEERA
    KAREN MUST BE THRILLED TO HAVE HER BOYS TOGETHER
    HOME WILL GIVE YOU PHYSICAL AND SPIRITUAL STRENGTH AND A TASTE OF ALL THE GOOD THINGS TO COME WHEN TREATMENT IS OVER I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU
    LOVE TO MOM AND MUCH LOVE TO YOU
    BARBARA

  7. I am so thrilled for you. I think of you often and have been following along with you every day. All the best to you as you really deserve it.

    Stay strong,
    Rose

  8. So glad to read that you’regoing home……..just in time to enjoy some delicious Matza Brei. It’s probably not on any “approved” list but maybe that’s because it’s not a common dish . At least describing Matza Brei to an unfamiliar nutritionist is easier than describing authentic old-fashioned Kishka (now known as stuffed derma). Bon appetit!!
    XXXXX
    Shari and Benet

  9. Seth!
    This is great news!
    I hope you received my card, letter and picture of us taken a while back.
    I am happy to hear that you are going home. I wish you all the very best!!
    Irene 🙂

  10. That is so wonderful you are going home. Ill be continuing to log and and keep track of your progress. Lots of love. Andrea

  11. This is the best news we have heard in a long time. Being in one’s home with YOUR bed & YOUR bathroom & YOUR space is always better than anywhere else. Knowing you, just take it easy the first couple of days home, no need to complete the decorating issues in an hour!
    Love ya Seth,
    Alan, Lindsay & Debi

  12. YAY! This is wonderful news!

    So happy for you, Seth!

    – Emin

  13. SUPER NEWS, SETH –

    C U TOMORROW

  14. Congrats on the great news!! I’m betting that a couple days of rest in your own bed, with your own pillow and your own blankets will no doubt boost those ANC’s!!!

Leave a Reply

