In the past 52 days …

me-outside

Originally uploaded by sdpalmer.

I haven’t been outside or walked up and down steps. That changed today. First, the physical therapist (read terrorist) came by and we walked up and down a whole flight of stairs. Very weird. My leg muscles haven’t had to move like that in a long time. I was able to make it up and down one whole flight of stairs without too much discomfort. It felt really weird though. The PT gave me exercises to do which I think will help me prepare for the next time I do the stairs – either Wednesday or Thursday this week.

Then, it was a real treat: it’s 70-some odd degrees (Fahrenheit, for all you non-US readers; ~ 20 C) today in Philadelphia and I decided it was time for me to go outside. So I’m wearing my hospital gown, put on my robe, got into another hospital gown – a yellow plastic thing to keep bad stuff away, donned a hat, a mask and gloves and off we went to the courtyard on the first floor.

First – and I know this won’t be exciting to most people – but I got to ride in a public elevator – not one of the patient elevators. The public elevators are beautiful compared to the internal patient ones. Then we went to the courtyard. And I’m sorry, but as an ex-smoker, I need to be a non-smoking evangelist now: people were smoking in the courtyard and it smelled like one big ashtray. Mom snapped a couple of pictures and then I told her I had to go inside because the smoke was making me sick.

But I was outside. How nice to smell the (somewhat) fresh air. I can’t wait to get home.

10 Responses

  1. Seth,

    Its great to see you up and about!!!! Keep up the great PT (physcial torture…I know how hard it is but you’re making great progress). These are all steps in the right direction and you’re on your way to getting things back to normal. Every step no matter how big or small is still a step in your recovery. Keep it up!! Ilyssa, Samantha, my mom and myself are excited to hear the good news…. Samantha even said “YEAH!!!” when I told everyone. Stay strong and all our love, thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Talk to you when we get back.

    Love
    Ed, Ilyssa, Samantha and Honey

  2. Happy Passover- glad to see you got out a bit. Scott & I are doing well. I was cleaning out of my rooms and I came across some pictures of you from Nana Ruth Goldings 90th Birthday. Ill see if I can scan and send. Love Andrea

  3. How exciting – returning to the ‘real world’! At the sedar last night I mentioned you and 4 people said they are already in the registry, and 2 more hope to sign up this week. See if the physical therapist will give you a massage at some point – they are great at that. When I was in college, everyone wanted to date the PT majors for just that reason. Just keep that sunny attitude and walk the walk and you’ll be walking through the door to your home soon.
    Marci

  4. WOO HOO! a zoom around in the fresh air…. and wrapped in synthetic fibre from head to toe… good heavens, sounds like you returning from Saturday night festivities on a Sunday… Glad to see old habits of former dis-repute… ( Oh come on everyone, we’ve all had breakfast in the clothes we intended to only be the personification of elegance in, the evening before…oops…was that really only me? Oh well…) are coming into their own. Keep it up my friend,

    Steve

  5. WOW YOU WERE OUTSIDE! THAT IS SO GREAT
    AS AN EX-SMOKER I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT
    IT CAN MAKE YOU PHYSICALLY ILL
    YOUR ADVENTURE IN A REAL ELEVATOR SPEAKS VOLUMES ABOUT WHERE YOU HAVE BEEN I WAS SO GLAD TO HEAR THAT YOU WERE UP AND ABOUT
    I HOPE THE TERRORIST CONTINUES TO CHALLENGE YOU HE OR SHE SOUNDS GREAT

    LOTS OF GOOD WISHES AND HUGS

    LOVE BARBARA

  6. Great to see that you are getting out and getting to use your muscles.
    We will be by tomorrow.

    we will be by tommorrow.

  7. You look like you are making the Vulcan symbol of hello…
    I wish they would ban smoking in ALL public places…since they know it kills…it’s not a question of smoker’s rights but one of the public’s right not to be killed…anyway good to see you “out” and about…and keep listening to your “terrorist”…she/he will be leading you out the door of that hospital…hugs…m

  8. It is refreshing to see you out in the fresh air. I can only imagine how _you_ feel!

    When you are up for it, I recommend finding someone who can show you around Hamilton Walk, which is just behind the hospital (I would be delighted to do so). The “Bio Pond”, which is just off of the walk, was renovated a few years ago and is a lovely natural spot hidden away in the city.

    Seeing you last weekend was a blast, and the photos are excellent. I need to get some blank media and get you the originals from my camera.

    Love and neutrophils 🙂
    Neil

  9. Hi Seth,
    The second seder tonight and want you to know that you were in my prayers this evening and last for a speedy recovery and back to normal kind of living.
    As usual at seders, the food was marvelous, fattening and delicious, and I ate all the things I am not supposed to, healthwise, but oh well, its only two nights. Tomorrow back on a regular diet, less fat, salt etc etc etc.
    I must say you looked very spiffy in that outfit you were wearing for the above picture. You “dresser” is just marvelous, should be in Hollywood, lol.
    Keep making progress and hopefully you will stay in touch, when you can.
    Love,
    Cliff

  10. not to be rude seth, I am actually a friend of ed’s and a cancer survivor myself, I am 31 and was treated at sloan kettering in ny 4 years ago for lymphoma. you seem to have a great attitude and with friends like ed and his family I am sure you will be fine. if you do speak to ed please pass on these messages to him.
    thanks,
    andrew

Leave a Reply

