Home couldn’t come sooner

I’m really looking forward to going home soon. But with my ANCs still floating in the high 100’s, I’m still a long way away from going home. We’re thinking that they’re still so low because I’m still fighting the infection in my lymph node. < sigh > On the one hand, that’s a good thing that I actually have an immune system to fight such infections, on the other hand, I can’t wait to get home and get out of the hospital.

I just sit here patiently every day, waiting for my numbers to recover and trying to exercise to get ready to go home. So I think I overdid it the other day when I did 10 laps; I was totally exhausted yesterday and my blood pressure was very low. Tomorrow, I start with a physical therapist since I also have stairs to negotiate at home and all I’ve done is flat-level exercises and laps around the floor.

Luckily, this “delay” in going home will help me find the last of the furniture I need to finish setting up the home office and finish setting up the rest of my apartment. I don’t know why it’s so difficult finding a good desk and home office set up but I can tell you this: after years of putting up e-commerce sites, there are dozens of good lessons to be learned from a lot of places. Images are too small. Categorization is really bad. Descriptions are poorly lacking. Dimensions are not consistently specified (feet and inches versus inches only). Colors are inaccurate. It’s sometimes just not worth doing business online if you’re not willing to invest what it takes to make a successful sale online. (I’m not going to get too deep here, but I’ve really learned a lot sitting here in my hospital bed doings as much online shopping as I have.)

One Response

  1. Dear Seth,
    The ANC’s will go up, just patience, patience and more patience. Having listened to your comments on home office set ups, I know what your going through. It is very difficult to get anything like that online, much easier to go in person to a store and get proper help, colors, designs, sizes etc. The makers of the online info for those things havent gotten it yet. lol
    Keep feeling better each day, keep doing those laps and exercises and have lots of patience. You will be going home shortly. Hope we can have dinner or lunch or breakfast together on my way into New York in July or August. Will let you know definite dates shortly.
    My best to you, my friend.
    Cliff

Leave a Reply

