My father has died – the other side of who shall live …

[NOTE: Please do not send condolence cards to the hospital – please only send get better cards to the hospital. All other correspondence can be sent to my home. If you need addresses, please let me know by email.]

My father was fortunate enough to have made it down to Philadelphia to see me last Friday before being admitted to the hospital on Saturday. My father was fortunate enough to have seen my brother yesterday just after Alan flew in from Israel. And I was fortunate enough to talk to my dad yesterday once he was out of critical care.

This morning, my father passed away. At least he held on for us all to see and speak with him. I am a little numb right now. A little unsure how I should feel. I am aware of the irony that my best friend’s father’s yarzheit was yesterday on the Jewish calendar and that my father’s will be so close. I am keenly aware of the other side of the who shall live and who shall die liturgy for Yom Kippur.

And I am ever grateful for the phone calls and emails and I’m sure all of the other media that will start flowing this way. I am a little overwhelmed. I cannot attend the funeral – the risks to my health are too great. But I will be present there somehow and will discuss with my brother and uncle how best to do that.

I can’t think of anything else to write right now except that I think you all for your love and support and understanding while I don’t respond or write as quickly or as often as I have or typically do.

Love and strength,
Seth

13 Responses

  1. Oh my dearest,
    My deep and heartfelt sympathies to you and all on the passing of your dad…I have fond memories of your dad and our chats when he would drive me home after babysitting for you. I am so thankful that you had your rapprochement with him over the past couple of years and that in and of itself, is a blessing. Making peace with the past is always the way towards a more peaceful future.

    It is my wish that your deep faith and love of friends and family help tocarry you through this sorrowful time and helps you to maintain the strength you need to continue on your road to wellness.

    Is there a way to upload photos or shall I just email them to you. I am quit remiss in getting to the post office to send my package…

    With more loves and hugs….from Zach Josh and me…
    M.

  2. Oh Seth –

    You have my deepest sympathies – and please know you have my support and love during this very tough time you are going through.

    All my love –
    Lenna

  3. Dearest, This is simply numbing. We all love you and send our support and love.

  4. Seth,

    We are very sorry for your loss and our thoughts and prayers continue to be with you.

    -Bill

  5. Seth,
    Sorry we didnt get a chance to talk today. Hope the day went easy for you if that is possible with everything on your plate. I will be in touch when i get back and hopefully we can chat for a while. Stay positive, my friend, somehow God helps us to sort things out and gives us comfort in the many problems that we encounter in our day to day life. You have always been a very positive kind of man, dont change. Talk to you soon,
    Love, Cliff

  6. Seth:

    My condolences to you and your family. I know that this is a difficult time, take solace in that your father is now in a better place. If you need anything please don’t hesitate in letting me know……..

    xoxoxoxoxoxo
    Laura

  7. Seth,

    Lot of love to you, your mom, brother and entire family during this difficult time.
    Please let me know your address when you get a chance.

    xoxoxox,

    -Lawrence

  8. Words can not adequately express how sorry I am for your loss.

    Warmest regards,
    –Sean W.

  9. Oh, hon.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    [love & good vibes]~~~~~~~~~~~[/love & good vibes]

    -D-

  10. Seth, I am so very very sorry. Words fail, and I can’t even begin to express my sadness for you and your family.

    Jen

  11. I am so sorry about your father. You continue to be in my thoughts and my prayers. I hope you are doing as well as can be expected. Your positive attitude will definately aid in your recovery. Please remember I am always here for you. Take care, feel well, and stay strong. Hope to hear or maybe even see you soon.
    All my love,
    Beth (Liz)

  12. Our deepest condolences to you & your family.
    We have you all in our thoughts.
    “God grant me the serentity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference”
    Alan Doloboff, Lindsay Doloboff, Debi Schneider

  13. Seth, please accept my deepest condolences. I am very sorry for your loss, and I pray for you to have strength to overcome everything.

    Please email me your phone number as soon as you get a chance.

    Lots of love,

    – Emin

Leave a Reply

