28 days in hospital

My hair is falling out, my counts are low and I’m getting a little more sluggish. I’ve been in touch with some long-lost friends and distant family and it’s all been helping. For the first time, the weather outside (frigid today here in PHL) seems to have seeped into my room a little and I can feel a little bit of a chill — or maybe it’s the lack of my hair.

So my brother is in town and I can’t wait to see him. He’s going to get typed and cross-matched as a possible bone marrow donor (but that’s still several steps away).

Allison, the dog sitter, told me Voodoo is sneaking onto furniture during the day and we have to do something about it. At first, Allison wanted the crate, but given Voodoo’s age and the trauma of this switch right now, I didn’t think that was a good idea. I suggested we put a sheet on the furniture for now, and I just saw a training blanket that let’s out a high pitch squeal should a pet venture onto it. So I think I’ll pick up a couple of those for Allison and send them over. Boy do I miss Voodoo though! I wish there was a cancer ward that could accept dogs on-site.

I know I need to plan for a home office for the near future. But I’m giving up on measured drawings. I was going nuts trying to lay things out by the inch or centimeter, but in the end, I know roughly what will fit where and just need to get a desk and some office supplies and bring the whole thing together when I get out of here. I just can’t do that level of planning now, and I certainly don’t think anyone can do it sitting, sick, in a hospital bed.

On the bright side, I got a letter from my insurance company that I’m being covered so far for my stay which is an enormous weight off of my shoulders. I never really needed insurance before, and boy, now I am very grateful.

I bought tickets for my mom and her sister to hear Gil Shaham play with the Philadelphia Orchestra at the Kimmel Center last night. My family has been so good to me and I wanted to express my thanks.

One Response

  1. Hey Seth, just wanted to say hi and let you know you are in my thoughts. You’re being extremely brave and this blog is a really amazing project. It’s a shame you can’t have your dog with you during this time, they are such wonderful companions, they express so much without words and I know having a dog helps so much when your facing difficult things.

Leave a Reply

