I am craving Hollandaise sauce

I don’t know why, but I woke up after dreaming about making Hollandaise sauce. Little pats of butter being stirred into egg yolks. Lemon. Poached eggs. Smoked salmon. Lightly toasted engligh muffin. Hot, roasted, spiced potatoes. Breakfast of champions. Fresh squeezed orange juice mixed with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. A hot coffee. I don’t know why, but I don’t think that’s going to be on my neutropenic diet anytime soon. Funny thing is, my doctor already told me I could have just about anything I want from McDonald’s – they don’t care about my cholestorol at this point. Funny. I’m going to have to make a page about what food’s good for me and what food’s not.

Now I’m just hoping I’ll have some good ole’ fashioned Rice Krispies on my tray this morning.

8 Responses

  1. Wait, you mean a burger and a shake is a good idea now? Wish I had thought of it!?!

  2. Man that was a wonderful description, I may have to alter my lunch plans 😉

    Sounds like they are starving you slowly – you need some food baskets delivered!

  3. Hey Seth,
    Marci here – your mom’s friend from NJ. I didn’t realize you were such a gourmet – I’m impressed. I’d have no idea how to make Hollandaise! Hope this is a good day for you. I’ve spoken to quite a few people in the past week who have had relatives/friends go through the same protocal as you are – and I’m thrilled to report that all of them are doing GREAT! I admire your attitude – and have to say as the daughter of a man who lived to be almost 91 – positive thoughts and outlook are so important. So hang in there, do what they say, and don’t chase the nurses too much. Oh, I think you look really great w/the shaved head – very sexy!
    Marci

  4. I have tried smoking salmon. It’s not very good. The poached eggs sound good though. ; )

  5. Eggs Benedict is my absolute favorite breakfast! That was such a perfect description.

  6. Next time I come to see you I will bvring some NYC goodies for you!!!

  7. Glad I can type and spell check!

  8. Hey Sweets,
    Finally got the blog address tonight from Aunt Barbara…and got up to date. When my stomach’s upset, I can always seem to down a McD’s vanilla shake…yum, yum. Been raining and cold here in L.A. …I know you think we are spoiled and I know it’s been worse back East, but when you get used to 70 plus degrees most of the time, when it’s below 60 by day and 40’s by night (and wet too boot) – it gets a bit old. Both Zach and Josh send their love and I am gathering some old and some new photos. Look forward to your next installment from “Happiness Central.” Laila Tov!

Leave a Reply

