Day 4 – early evening

So during the day, I spoke with my oncologist. I have Acute Myelogenous Leukemia. I can’t explain how this is different from the other type. We also discussed treatment. The preferred approach today is to give antitumor anitiotics with antimetabolites (chemical similar to the building blocks of DNA but are changed sufficiently from the natural chemical – they block the cell’s ability to form DNA, preventing further cancerous growth). The current intention is to administer idarubicin and cytarabine.

Today, I also learned that I’m eligible to take place in a trial that would replace the idarubicin drug with a higher dose of daunorubicin. The study is trying to determine if fewer chemo sessions would be necessary following a higher dose of the antitumor antibiotic. I’m considering participation in this trial and need to look through the papers more. I really grilled the nurse who presented it to me this afternoon – these things are done so “medically” that any lay-person would find it very hard to just get the gist of what they’re trying to do and what the possible reprecutions, side-effects, etc., are. I am favoring doing this trial though – I have nothing to lose and a lot to gain.

We still don’t know which chromosome pair further identify my form of the disease. We should know that tomorrow, which will also contribute to prognosis and schedule of treatments. We have, however, ruled out M3 – Promyelocytic … this would require a completely different course of treatment.

I’m in a little pain after the Hickman and the Oxycodone has kicked in so I need to make this entry short. Tomorrow, I have some housekeeping to do in terms of the dog, paying bills, etc., and then I think on Thursday, I’ll be starting my chemotherapy. < head spins >

Leave a Reply

