Thank you

Alan, Sheera and I want to thank you for all the wonderful, caring messages we have received. The family has been asked if there are any special places that we could suggest for donations in Seth’s memory. We offer the following suggestions:

Rhoads 7 Patient Comfort Fund,

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania,

3400 Spruce St

Philadelphia, PA 19104

Att: Debra Dearstyne

or

Congregation Ansche Chesed

251 West 100 St.

New York, NY 10025.

With love and strength

Mom

16 Responses

  1. I don’t Seth but my deepest condolences to the family. My father battled CML for 20+ years before passing almost 3 years ago.

    I will think of Seth from time to time when I feel like times are tough. Bless You.

  2. I cannot find the words to express my emotions when i went ot the blog just now and read the last two entries. I have been following since the beginning of Seth’s illness and was lucky enough to have a phone conversation with him during this time. My heart and tears are with you. Seth and I as you may know met each other almost twenty years ago at Boston University. I already knew then how talented and special he was.

    I have also known loss in my life and I know how difficult this time is and will be for you. Be comforted by the fact that no person has been more honored in life by the people closest to him than Seth was. You are all special and without a doubt Seth appreciated every minute he had with you all.

    Take care.
    Love,
    Rose

  3. Mom…

    I’m sorry we hadn’t the opportunity the other day after the interment to speak with you. If you need anything or there’s anything I can do in the coming time to help with anything, you have my number.

    Having not a close relationship with my parents, I can tell you from the conversations Seth and I had about parents his and mine, the one source of strength he had in helping to persevere each day was you. Whether the cab ride home with you and Voodoo the day he got her, and the past 10 months, each day you stood by his side had meant so much to him to have that support and love around him.

    Thank you for being you and for helping someone who meant the world to me and is held close to my heart through the toughest challenge life gave him.

  4. To the Palmer Family,

    Please accept my deepest condolences.

    I found Seth’s blog today completely by chance. For some reason, I did a google search today on “leukemia blog” and found this blog. I have spent the entire day reading all of the entries.

    In October 2006 I lost my oldest and dearest friend (my sister/friend) to AML.

    Although I spent countless hours with my friend during her struggle, there were many questions that remained unanswered after she was gone. My friend didn’t keep a journal, and no matter how close I was to her, I had no way of knowing what she was going through.

    Seth’s blog so clearly and poignently describes his battle with leukemia from a patient’s point of view. By reading his words, I feel that I have a better understanding of what my friend went through. For that, I am very grateful to Seth.

    Seth’s life has already begun to have a ripple effect. I never met him, but now I will never forget him. He has given me a great gift.

    I wish for your family and friends strength during this difficult time.

    Angela
    Falls Church, VA

  5. Mom/Alan/Sheera,

    I was pretty shocked to learn Seth had passed on the 22nd. Perhaps it was wishful thinking or plain old denial, but I thought he would beat the odds and pull through. Just as I did in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, I will participating in the Spin4Survival to honor Seth and benefit the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. More information can be found and donations can be made here for anyone reading this comment: http://www.active.com/donate/spin4survival2008/mross

  6. I did not know Seth, but my two children spoke so kindly about him that as a mother I felt I needed to write this note. They were involved in a project at Spotlight with Seth and both talked about how Seth had a heart of gold and had enthusiasm that was contagious. He was larger than life both said and I just wanted you to know that he touched those who knew him only a short time. My children were on the west coast for Christmas and were so sorry to miss the service for him.

    Just know that Seth reached a lot of people who will miss him. As a mother, I send you my deepest sympathies.

  7. As a mother of a young daughter who recently died from leukemia (ALL) this year believe me when I say…I know your pain. After my daughters death I searched endlessly for uplifting blogs/sites that showed hope for patients currently suffering from this awful disease. I came upon Seth’s and was so moved by this determination to fight the fight. I continued to follow his progress and prayed for a remission for him and others currently suffering from blood cancers.

    I didn’t visit his site over the holidays and was shocked to finally get on it to hear the sad news. Another person who was taken way…way too soon…I wish I could offer some sort of comfort, or tell you that in months the pain will subside but I can’t…because it doesn’t.

    I hope you find some comfort in knowing that his blog helped me through my struggles with my grief…first it gave me something to hope for…and it also helped me understand the feelings of a patient who was going through what my daughter was. Seth wrote so eloquently in his blogs and was so willing to give it his all, to fight to the finish…I just wish his fight as well as my daughters would have ended up with a happy ending.

    I will not let this disease win in the end…we continue to fight and raise money (LLS) to help find a cure. Seth and my daughter Michelle’s life is worth fighting for. God Bless you and your family.

    Sue Lunn
    (Michelle’s mother)

    • Dear Sue Lunn,
      (Michelle’s mom)

      I read your message, and I too recently lost my 25 year old daughter Jackie to leukemia, AML, it was a very difficult year and I truly thought she would win this fight and be with us still today.

      I am hurting so much more now than when she passed this past April 28th, 2009.
      I don’t know if you will receive this message but I just needed to know how do you go on and handle this. I find it really so difficult, I have been going to compassionate friends, and a counselor but I feel like nothing really takes this awful grief and ache in my stomach and heart away. My email is laurie_meyer2000@yahoo.com. My daughter was such a joy and had so much courage and determination, i could of never thought something like this could take her. She was always a fighter in everything she did, soccer, basketball, college. This is such an awful disease, and I and her sister Mandy are also doing fundraisers and relay for life, and whatever we can to help fight this disease. Please help me understand how do you cope and have coped.
      Sincerely,
      Laurie

      • To Seth’s mother:
        I was so sorry to hear of your Seth’s passing, my heart breaks for you. I know you are still hurting as well, and my prayers and thoughts go out to you and your family.

        Sincerely,
        Laurie

      • Thank you for your kind words. They really do mean so much to me. Seth was a very special person and I hope that I can continue to do him justice and honor his memory.
        Karen

  8. After much thought about what might be a good way to pay tribute to Seth’s memory, I have decided to start a collection to purchase a new piano for Forest Hills High School. I have spoken with his mom and she was quite honored, and supports the idea. I have contacted the school and will be setting up an account, ready to accept all donations. We will have a plaque with Seth’s name on it and a dedication ceremony when we have made the purchase…perhaps at next year’s SING performance? I will keep you all posted and let you know when and where you can send in a donation, if you are interested…in the meantime, please spread the word. Any questions, feel free to e-mail…BarbraSK@aol.com

    Barbra Klein
    FHHS class of 1986

  9. Like some others, I found Seth’s blog when someone near to me was diagnosed with Leukemia. My boyfriend was diagnosed in October with ALL. I found such strength & inspiration in Seth’s determination to fight this with all he had – I still do. My thoughts are with you & your family, he’s left quite an impression on so many people – he will be missed.

  10. I just got back from a vacation and am sitting here stunned at reading the last two blogs of Seth’s mother and brother. I knew Seth since he was one of my guidance students in Halsey JHS and have followed his career and successes through the years. I spoke to Seth at the beginning of last year about his illness. My heart broke at hearing him cry and we spoke about how God works in strange ways. Seth was a strong young man and showed that strength over the past months as he battled with his illness. No one could have fought harder.
    My deepest sympathy go out to the family, Seth’s Mother and brother and his sister-in-law. He was truly a jewel to all his friends and the world.

  11. The Seth Palmer Memorial Fund account has officially been set up at Forest Hills High School and is ready to accept all donations, large and small…please make checks payable to The Seth Palmer Memorial Fund and send them in to Forest Hills High School 67-01 110 Street, Forest Hills, NY 11375, attention: Wendy Scherer…the goal again, depending upon how much money is collected, is to either fix the grand piano that is no longer used because it is broken, or buy a new one…if in fact there is money left over after that, we will be setting up a Scholarship Fund to help out a deserving graduating senior, perhaps with similar interests and/or character traits as Seth.
    On behalf of Seth’s mom Karen, and the rest of the Palmer family, I want to thank you all in advance for your kindness and generosity.

  12. The Seth Palmer Memorial Fund account has officially been set up at Forest Hills High School and is ready to accept all donations, large and small…please make checks payable to The Seth Palmer Memorial Fund and send them in to Forest Hills High School 67-01 110 Street, Forest Hills, NY 11375, attention: Wendy Scherer…the goal again, depending upon how much money is collected, is to either fix the grand piano that is no longer used because it is broken, or buy a new one…if in fact there is money left over after that, we will be setting up a Scholarship Fund to help out a deserving graduating senior, perhaps with similar interests and/or character traits as Seth.
    On behalf of Seth’s mom Karen, and the rest of the Palmer family, I want to thank you all in advance for your kindness and generosity.

  13. Mom (Karen)-
    Despite having lost touch over the years I always knew that I would see Seth once a year at the AFIPO benefit. When I got my invitation in the mail this year I couldn’t imagine why his name wasn’t on the list (was he taking a break, did he have a disagreement – unlikely….), but I signed up nonetheless thinking that whatever it was he would still be there. This was our yearly rendezvous, of course he would be there. It wasn’t until last night that I heard the news. shocked is not the word. I had no idea that he was even sick . I spent the day reading the blog from beginning to end. Aside from the obvious reasons, it was also difficult to read because i knew that there was no opportunity anymore to send him my love and support, as well as no matter how hopeful you got, I still knew the ending.
    Seth was a wonderful person, and I only hope that despite the fact that we didn’t keep up as often as we should have and that I didn’t have the opportunity to tell him, he knew how much I cared for & loved him.
    I will be at the AFIPO on feb 6th. I know it will be difficult, because despite the fact that I know he will not be there, I will still be looking for him. It just won’t be the same.
    I am deeply sorry for your loss. Please accept my love and my condolences to you and Alan (& Sheera). Even if I only saw him once a year, he will be missed year round.
    All my Love
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

